Gamma Phi Opportunities!

Gamma Phi Chapter
at Rush University College of Nursing

Please take some time to explore Gamma Phi's Circle website.  
This is the place to learn about our chapter and upcoming events.


Log in to see this information
Join STTI Renew Today
Chapter Leaders Members Only

Chapter News

Certified Nurses Day

Happy Certified Nurses Day!

Gamma Phi Members Received Four International Awards

Out of a global community of nurse leaders throughout 486 chapters in more than 85 countries, Gamma Phi members were selected to receive four of the 2013 International Awards for Nursing Excellence from Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The International Awards for Nursing Excellence recognize achievements in the fields of technology, media, chapter excellence, research and leadership.

Lynne T. Braun, PhD, CNP, FAHA, FAAN, Professor at Rush University College of Nursing, was selected for the Marie Hippensteel Lingeman Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice. This award is categorized as a Founders Award – giving tribute to the six founding nurses of STTI and the director of nursing at Indiana University for their insights in 1922 that advanced scholarship, leadership, research and practice. The Founders Award recognizes extraordinary excellence, and is the highest honor bestowed by STTI.

Paula Meier, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor at Rush University College of Nursing was selected for the Audrey Hepburn Award for Contributions to the Health and Welfare of Children for her extraordinary research and practice with women, babies and their families to ensure breastfeeding among the most vulnerable children. This award was established in 1993 to honor Ms. Hepburn’s extraordinary work on behalf of children in need and is presented each biennium to a nurse who has made significant contributions to the health and well-being of children.

The Rush Professional Nursing Staff, under the leadership of past-presidents and gamma phi members Benson Wright, MSN, RN, and Erik McIntosh, MSN, APRN, received the Clinical Partnership Award - Academic Medical Center. This award honors a clinical facility or nursing unit that has demonstrated commitment in promoting quality in health care, promoting professional nursing as demonstrated by the development of nurse leaders, and has shown excellence in health care outcomes. For the Rush Professional Nursing Staff, this award recognizes the impact that 30 years of strong shared governance can have on nursing excellence, patient outcomes, and professional development for nurses.

A Rush team consisting of gammi phi member Patty Nedved, MSN, CENP, Associate Vice President, Professional Nursing Practice at Rush, Lisa Swiontek, MBA, RN, Assistant Vice President, IS, Robert Narowski, BSN, RN, Director IS, Julio Silva, MD, CMIO, and Deborah Gardiner, MS, RN, Service Line Administrator, received the Clinical Technology Award. This award recognizes developers who have successfully developed and implemented a clinical nursing application that assists nurses in the delivery of quality nursing care. The Rush team built a nursing driven protocol in the Electronic Health Record that that prompts nurses to perform an assessment consistently and with limited variability to ensure comprehensive screening on 100% of inpatients related to influenza and pneumococcal vaccination. This process increased global vaccination core measure performance in the medical center, where nurses have true ownership of the process and have been able to demonstrate success by leveraging existing technology to develop meaningful tools and reports.

Award recipients were honored at The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International’s 42nd Biennial Convention on November 18, 2013 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Congratulations to all!

Gamma Phi's Cathy Catrambone has been elected as the 31st president of STTI!

At the 42nd Biennial Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana on November 19, 2013, the delegate assembly elected Cathy Catrambone as president-elect of Sigma Theta Tau International, Honor Society of Nursing.

Dr. Catrambone begins serving as president-elect immediately. After this two year term, Dr. Catrambone will serve as the 31st president of this global organization with over 134,000-members in 489 chapters across 91 countries.

Congratulations Cathy Catrambone!


As a result of your caring spirit and generosity, the patrons of Franciscan House received:
252 winter coats, 52 hats, 62 pairs of gloves, and 27 scarves!



Give Someone a Warm Hug this Winter

Donate your clean, gently used winter coats, hats, and gloves
to benefit the patrons of the
Franciscan House
2715 West Harrison Street, Chicago, IL

What: Rush University Medical Center
Coat Drive

When: September 1 – 30, 2013

Who: Donations will benefit the
patrons of Franciscan House, a 257-bed homeless shelter serving men and women in Chicago

How: Bring your clean, gently-used
winter coats, hats, and gloves to your departmental collection bin

Questions: ? ? ? ? ?
Contact Molly McCarthy or Allison Vasilj via RUSH email

Upcoming Events

Log in to see this information

International Events